Jillianne

Jillianne Hamilton is a history enthusiast, author, graphic designer, paper crafter and artist living on Canada's beautiful east coast.

Alewives, Brewsters, and the Birth of the Witch

(Insert cartoonish witch cackle here.) October wouldn’t be complete without a blog post relating to the spooooookiest day of the year—Halloween of course! I love Halloween: the gothy decor, the candy, the costumes. Back in my trick-or-treating days, I dressed up as a witch a lot, I’ve always loved The Wizard of Oz and Wicked and movies like Practical Magic and Hocus Pocus. Previously, I did a blog post about the Salem …

Interview/Giveaway: The Gold Pawn by L.A. Chandlar

In partnership with Kensington Books, we’re giving away a really awesome prize pack! Make sure to see the details after the interview to learn more and enter to win.  I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk to author L.A. Chandlar about her recent historical fiction mystery, The Gold Pawn: An Art Deco Mystery.   1. How does The Gold Pawn compare to your previous novels? The …

Bess Foster: the Other Woman

This is a guest post by Jess Toole. Thanks Jess! As a fan of the 2008 film, The Duchess, and a regular visitor to Chatsworth house in Derbyshire, the story of Lady Elizabeth Foster has always fascinated me. Bess, as she is most commonly known, was born 13th May 1758. Her childhood was spent in Ireland in quite poor living conditions but she escaped this …

Interview: Anna Lee Huber, Author of Treacherous is the Night

Treacherous is the Night by bestselling author Anna Lee Huber comes out later this month and focuses on WWI’s most vital clandestine fact-collecting organization, La Dame Blanche. For fans of The Bletchley Circle and The Imitation Game, this richly researched drama promises to enthrall. I had the chance to ask Anna a few questions about her new novel.   What’s your book about? How does …

A Feminist Glance at History: Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots

This is a guest post by Marina Jovanović. Thanks Marina! Today, when feminism is stronger than ever, it is interesting to see there have always been powerful women who stood for what “girl power” stands for today as well. Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots, are prime examples. Let’s see how they struggled to maintain power in the male-dominated world. Mary was crowned when she …

Interview: Royal Treasure Chest

I was giddy when I recently discovered the delightfulness that is the Royal Treasure Chest Vintage Subscription Box. As a person who loves getting mail, I was intrigued by the hand-curated collections of vintage items sent to a person’s door, available in several categories: Olde Books, Curios & Knick-Knacks, Jewelry, Tie Bars & Cufflinks, Paper Ephemera, Ladies Accessories, Gentlemen’s Accessories, and Surprise Me! I reached out to the folks behind the subscription box …

Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society (Film)

Knowing that a film adaptation was to be released within the year, I borrowed the audiobook of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society from my local library in the spring. I devoured it. It quickly became one of my very favorite books due to its themes of friendship, following your heart, and book love. Books lovers are suckers for books about other book lovers, aren’t …

Review: A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty

Mimi Matthews makes another appearance at The Lazy Historian for one of her lovely books and, once again, has written a fantastic, well-researched non-fiction book. (Go read my review for The Pug Who Bit Napoleon.) A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty is Matthews’ newest publication and, like many books from Pen & Sword, it’s small but mighty. It’s a dense book of Victorian …

Review: The Home for Unwanted Girls

(I won’t get into specifics but if child abuse is triggering for you, I’d avoid this one.) I enjoy historical fiction because it is the only form of time travel available to me. I would never want to actually live in the past, but seeing how other people existed and endured during a different time is fascinating to me. In Joanna Goodman’s new novel, The Home …