Jillianne

Jillianne Hamilton is a history enthusiast, author, graphic designer, paper crafter and artist living on Canada's beautiful east coast.

The Curse of Woodstock

I wasn’t really surprised when I heard Woodstock 50 was cancelled. Upon hearing the expected lineup a few months prior, I was disappointed to see the 50th Anniversary of the famous (infamous?) Woodstock Music and Art Festival, wasn’t so much a tribute to the original 1969 festival, but just another music event with a lineup of impressive names; Miley Cyrus, The Killers, and Jay-Z to …

Noble Blood: a new podcast for history fans

NEWS: I’m back from hiatus! No, I haven’t finished my novel (updates over here) but I missed writing about history on a regular basis. I hope to update at least once a month going forward but probably won’t be sending out newsletters on a monthly basis. Probably closer to once every three months or so. We’ll see. I’m still active elsewhere online: if you enjoy …

Review: Margaret Tudor: The Life of Henry VIII’s Sister by Melanie Clegg

I want to first clarify that yes, The Lazy Historian is still technically on hiatus. This book was sent to me by Pen and Sword Books in exchange for an honest review so here I am, posting a review. Please check out Jilly.ca for my regularly updated blog or my historical fiction book blog, Old Timey Books. Although beautifully and intelligently written, Melanie Clegg’s Margaret …

On Hiatus

The Lazy Historian and the monthly newsletter are going on hiatus for a while, probably until I finish this darn novel. Please note I will not be accepting any guest posts during the hiatus so all emails of this nature will be ignored. I will likely still be blogging at Jilly.ca for the time being. If I come across anything cool or fascinating related to …

Review: Tombland by CJ Sansom

(This is a guest post by Claire Miles of The Hisdoryan. Thanks Claire!) In the historical fiction section at your local bookshop, you can’t move for novels about the Tudor Court, complete with glamorous masques a-plenty and more jousts than you can shake a stick at. But what about some historical fiction that shows the true, gritty (and often just disgustingly filthy) life that thousands …

Alewives, Brewsters, and the Birth of the Witch

(Insert cartoonish witch cackle here.) October wouldn’t be complete without a blog post relating to the spooooookiest day of the year—Halloween of course! I love Halloween: the gothy decor, the candy, the costumes. Back in my trick-or-treating days, I dressed up as a witch a lot, I’ve always loved The Wizard of Oz and Wicked and movies like Practical Magic and Hocus Pocus. Previously, I did a blog post about the Salem …

Interview/Giveaway: The Gold Pawn by L.A. Chandlar

In partnership with Kensington Books, we’re giving away a really awesome prize pack! Make sure to see the details after the interview to learn more and enter to win.  I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk to author L.A. Chandlar about her recent historical fiction mystery, The Gold Pawn: An Art Deco Mystery.   1. How does The Gold Pawn compare to your previous novels? The …

Bess Foster: the Other Woman

This is a guest post by Jess Toole. Thanks Jess! As a fan of the 2008 film, The Duchess, and a regular visitor to Chatsworth house in Derbyshire, the story of Lady Elizabeth Foster has always fascinated me. Bess, as she is most commonly known, was born 13th May 1758. Her childhood was spent in Ireland in quite poor living conditions but she escaped this …

Interview: Anna Lee Huber, Author of Treacherous is the Night

Treacherous is the Night by bestselling author Anna Lee Huber comes out later this month and focuses on WWI’s most vital clandestine fact-collecting organization, La Dame Blanche. For fans of The Bletchley Circle and The Imitation Game, this richly researched drama promises to enthrall. I had the chance to ask Anna a few questions about her new novel.   What’s your book about? How does …