Interviews Category Archives

Interview/Giveaway: The Gold Pawn by L.A. Chandlar

In partnership with Kensington Books, we’re giving away a really awesome prize pack! Make sure to see the details after the interview to learn more and enter to win.  I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk to author L.A. Chandlar about her recent historical fiction mystery, The Gold Pawn: An Art Deco Mystery.   1. How does The Gold Pawn compare to your previous novels? The …

Interview: Anna Lee Huber, Author of Treacherous is the Night

Treacherous is the Night by bestselling author Anna Lee Huber comes out later this month and focuses on WWI’s most vital clandestine fact-collecting organization, La Dame Blanche. For fans of The Bletchley Circle and The Imitation Game, this richly researched drama promises to enthrall. I had the chance to ask Anna a few questions about her new novel.   What’s your book about? How does …

Interview: Royal Treasure Chest

I was giddy when I recently discovered the delightfulness that is the Royal Treasure Chest Vintage Subscription Box. As a person who loves getting mail, I was intrigued by the hand-curated collections of vintage items sent to a person’s door, available in several categories: Olde Books, Curios & Knick-Knacks, Jewelry, Tie Bars & Cufflinks, Paper Ephemera, Ladies Accessories, Gentlemen’s Accessories, and Surprise Me! I reached out to the folks behind the subscription box …

Interview + Giveaway: Valentine Baker’s Heroic Stand At Tashkessen 1877

A big thanks to author Frank Jastrzembski for stopping by the blog and answering some questions about his book, Valentine Baker’s Heroic Stand At Tashkessen 1877: A Tarnished British Soldier’s Glorious Victory. You can enter to win an ebook version of this book by leaving a comment below. The winner will be drawn randomly and receive a Kindle or ePub version of the ebook. Good …

Interview: The Morbid History Podcast

I’m thrilled to share this interview with you! I got the chance to interview the two lovely and charming hosts of The Morbid History podcast, Charli and Katie. These two friends loooove stories of guts and gore from the past. Is there a better month than October to have this interview? I think not! Tell me a little bit about the Morbid History Podcast. Charli: …

Interview: Natalie Grueninger of On the Tudor Trail

Every fan of Tudor history with an internet connection has probably browsed the blog On The Tudor Trail at least once or twice. The woman behind the blog, Natalie Grueninger, told me about her newest Tudor travel book, Discovering Tudor London. Thanks Natalie! Tell us a little bit about your new book, Discovering Tudor London: A Journey Back in Time. I’d love to! It’s a guide to …

Interview: Elliot Tiber

August 15, 2017 marks the 48th anniversary since Woodstock, the music and art festival that shook up the sleepy little town of Bethel, New York for three days. I have celebrated Woodstock Day for several years, usually by watching Taking Woodstock (2009) or by watching the Woodstock documentary (1970). One of the people involved in finding the location for the festival was Elliot Tiber, a closest …

Interview: Bring Jane Home

I recently blogged about Jane Austen’s life and work since this year marks 200 year since her death at the age of 41. I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to talk to the curator of the Jane Austen’s House Museum, Mary Guyatt, about their new wonderful campaign. Click the above graphic for more information. What is the Bring Jane Home campaign? The Museum is …

Interview: Dr. Ian Mortimer, Author and Historian

About a month ago, I was really annoyed. I’m a huge fan of “everyday life” English history books. I have a special shelf in my office just for those types of books. You might notice two things about the above picture: Two books here are by Ian Mortimer. I’m a big fan. I’m missing a book about life in Restoration Britain. And that’s why I was …