historical fiction Tag Archives

Interview/Giveaway: The Gold Pawn by L.A. Chandlar

In partnership with Kensington Books, we’re giving away a really awesome prize pack! Make sure to see the details after the interview to learn more and enter to win.  I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk to author L.A. Chandlar about her recent historical fiction mystery, The Gold Pawn: An Art Deco Mystery.   1. How does The Gold Pawn compare to your previous novels? The …

Interview: Anna Lee Huber, Author of Treacherous is the Night

Treacherous is the Night by bestselling author Anna Lee Huber comes out later this month and focuses on WWI’s most vital clandestine fact-collecting organization, La Dame Blanche. For fans of The Bletchley Circle and The Imitation Game, this richly researched drama promises to enthrall. I had the chance to ask Anna a few questions about her new novel.   What’s your book about? How does …

Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society (Film)

Knowing that a film adaptation was to be released within the year, I borrowed the audiobook of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society from my local library in the spring. I devoured it. It quickly became one of my very favorite books due to its themes of friendship, following your heart, and book love. Books lovers are suckers for books about other book lovers, aren’t …

Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

I always keep my ears open for new costume dramas coming out and add them to my To Watch list. A few months ago, I added The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society to that list. I didn’t know anything about it. Since I’ve been on a historical fiction bender lately, I decided to check out what my library had for historical fiction and the audiobook …

Review: The Bowes Inheritance

Now that The Lazy Historian’s Guide to the Wives of Henry VIII is out on ebook, I’ve had some time to get reacquainted with historical fiction. (You can expect more reviews of historical fiction here on the blog as well.) I posted on a Facebook group what I wanted in a novel: Victorian era, based in England or New York and something with a romantic sub-plot …

The Lazy Historian’s Guide to Historical Accuracy on Screen

Author Hilary Mantel has been drowning in accolades since Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies hit the bookstore shelves, the stage and then the TV screen. But I found it surprising when Mantel said women writers must stop falsely empowering female characters in history, referring specifically to historical fiction authors. It’s interesting that Mantel dislikes that part about historical fiction but doesn’t mind changing up other …