Featured Category Archives

A History of High Heels

This is a guest post by Jordan Baker of East India Blogging Co. Thanks Jordan! In contemporary Western society, heels are often seen as the epitome of female fashion. But this wasn’t always the case. Heels have their origins among the male-dominated warrior class of Persia. Making their first appearance in the historical record sometime between the tenth and fifteenth centuries, heeled shoes were originally …

The Terrifying Flag of Blackbeard

This is a guest post by Jordan Baker of East India Blogging Co. Thanks Jordan! Imagine this: a black flag picturing a white, horned devil. In the creature’s right hand it holds an hourglass, while in its left it holds a spear that it’s driving into a large red heart, out of which droplets of blood slowly seep. The symbology here at play here is …

The Curse of Woodstock

I wasn’t really surprised when I heard Woodstock 50 was cancelled. Upon hearing the expected lineup a few months prior, I was disappointed to see the 50th Anniversary of the famous (infamous?) Woodstock Music and Art Festival, wasn’t so much a tribute to the original 1969 festival, but just another music event with a lineup of impressive names; Miley Cyrus, The Killers, and Jay-Z to …

Noble Blood: a new podcast for history fans

NEWS: I’m back from hiatus! No, I haven’t finished my novel (updates over here) but I missed writing about history on a regular basis. I hope to update at least once a month going forward but probably won’t be sending out newsletters on a monthly basis. Probably closer to once every three months or so. We’ll see. I’m still active elsewhere online: if you enjoy …

Alewives, Brewsters, and the Birth of the Witch

(Insert cartoonish witch cackle here.) October wouldn’t be complete without a blog post relating to the spooooookiest day of the year—Halloween of course! I love Halloween: the gothy decor, the candy, the costumes. Back in my trick-or-treating days, I dressed up as a witch a lot, I’ve always loved The Wizard of Oz and Wicked and movies like Practical Magic and Hocus Pocus. Previously, I did a blog post about the Salem …

Interview/Giveaway: The Gold Pawn by L.A. Chandlar

In partnership with Kensington Books, we’re giving away a really awesome prize pack! Make sure to see the details after the interview to learn more and enter to win.  I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk to author L.A. Chandlar about her recent historical fiction mystery, The Gold Pawn: An Art Deco Mystery.   1. How does The Gold Pawn compare to your previous novels? The …

Bess Foster: the Other Woman

This is a guest post by Jess Toole. Thanks Jess! As a fan of the 2008 film, The Duchess, and a regular visitor to Chatsworth house in Derbyshire, the story of Lady Elizabeth Foster has always fascinated me. Bess, as she is most commonly known, was born 13th May 1758. Her childhood was spent in Ireland in quite poor living conditions but she escaped this …

Interview: Anna Lee Huber, Author of Treacherous is the Night

Treacherous is the Night by bestselling author Anna Lee Huber comes out later this month and focuses on WWI’s most vital clandestine fact-collecting organization, La Dame Blanche. For fans of The Bletchley Circle and The Imitation Game, this richly researched drama promises to enthrall. I had the chance to ask Anna a few questions about her new novel.   What’s your book about? How does …

Interview: Royal Treasure Chest

I was giddy when I recently discovered the delightfulness that is the Royal Treasure Chest Vintage Subscription Box. As a person who loves getting mail, I was intrigued by the hand-curated collections of vintage items sent to a person’s door, available in several categories: Olde Books, Curios & Knick-Knacks, Jewelry, Tie Bars & Cufflinks, Paper Ephemera, Ladies Accessories, Gentlemen’s Accessories, and Surprise Me! I reached out to the folks behind the subscription box …